Shorts & Changes

May 14, 2011 at 1:57 am (writing)

Well, Facebook has recently cracked down on preventing people from running contests on their fan pages. Try it and risk losing that page. It’s a shame. I’ve been using it as an opportunity to let those who followed my page share in my books and artwork (like this picture here, a personalized prize that is 100% original.) I still plan on making good on my last posted contest (for a print copy of Fervor), but from now on, I’m going to have to redirect traffic to my blog, Twitter or goodreads for future promotional giveaways. On that note, I’m offering up the chance to win another personalized piece of genre artwork (picture you as a horror/fantasy beastie in the setting of your choice) for those who are subscribed to my blog by the end of June. So far I have only two subscribers, so if I don’t get any takers, the odds are very much in their favour. All you need to do is post a comment that you have subscribed to my blog, and I’ll make sure to add you to the draw.

Aside from my current novel WIP, I have a lot of things on the go. I have an editing project for a friend, on which I’ve fallen woefully behind, I have a charity artwork Christmas project and I have a podcast story that needs to be properly recorded. I’ve done a practice run for Rats! For the Wicked Women Writers competition, but I sound small and nasal. I’m going to have to work on sprucing that up for the June deadline. As well I have occasional demands from publisher and convention publicists that I am trying to fulfill on top of working at building my website. I honestly wished I didn’t have to sleep at all.

And then there are the short stories, submitted and neglected for the moment. Here’s my list:

Fly on the Wall (fantasy) – submitted March 5, 2011

Eliza’s Shell (fantasy) – submitted March 5, 2011

Weighing Fate (speculative fiction) – February 22, 2011

Insurance (horror) – submitted November 2010

Euthanasia (horror – vampire) – submitted December 8, 2010

The Lesson (fantasy) –  submitted December 12, 2010

Vanity (horror – witch) – submitted January 8, 2011

The Lure (horror – monster) – submitted January 8, 2011

Little Sister (horror) – submitted January 27, 2011

Silence in the Court (horror) – submitted April 9, 2011

Escarg – 0 – (zombie horror) – submitted May 1, 2011 

As you can see, some of those stories have been waiting on acceptance/rejection for quite some time. As soon as June rolls round, anything that has been waiting for 6+ months not pending a submission close date will be withdrawn so I can resubmit elsewhere. I’m not about to wait forever for an answer from someone who is apparently less than professional. If you don’t want it, just tell me “no” already, so I can move on.                 Next week – other things on the agenda

4 Comments

  1. theleagueofelder said,

    I’m subscribed, Chantal!

  2. Rebecca Snow said,

    I had no idea Facebook was doing that. Guess I’ll have to stop giving stuff away, too. Why do they have issues with giving incentives (ok, bribes) to like us?

    • chantellyb said,

      There’s an article about it that I shared on my wall. Apparently they closed a couple of pages already. The article says that some people are creating multiple pages just so they can like a page offering a “like me” contest multiple times (some pages are offering prizes like Kindles.) I gathered as well that facebook is worried about getting caught in the middle of a legal battle over one of these contests. And lastly, folks are suggesting it’s a money grab from more paid advertising which they hope they’ll get from doing this.

Leave a Reply

