The Blurb on Other People’s Words – Ladies Who Move Me

May 10, 2011 at 2:49 am (Reviews, writing)

I was hoping to have the review for my latest read finished, but I’ve fallen behind schedule. Instead, I’ve decide to include two books written by women who have inspired me greatly, for this Monday’s review.

The Fox by Arlene Radasky

I stumbled across The Fox while looking for some light entertainment, and by the time that I realized that this wasn’t it, I had been irrevocably sucked in. I’ve never fallen in love with characters the way I fell in love with Jahna, and especially, because the reader gets to view him through Jahna’s eyes, with Lovern. This is a wonderful blend of realism, history and heart-wrenching fantasy, a hauntingly-sweet, tragic story that allows you to feel like you are breathing in the sights and sounds that the narrator is experiencing, and makes you want to cling to each moment so that it endures. Ms. Radasky is a master at evoking a strong sense of attachment to all of her characters, including the modern day ones who play a lesser role in the tale. Even the minor characters come to life and I walked away from the story (still wiping the tears from my face) with the impression that I had new friends, lovers and family. I look forward to the author’s next book, which is still a work in progress. I would recommend this story to anyone with a heart, and would rate this as one of my favourite books ever.

Help Wanted, Human: No Experience Necessary by Stephen Wytrysowski (aka Cynthia)

Writing a good story via journal entries is a difficult task, and one that I would never attempt. It is taking first person narrative to an extreme, and you have to completely embrace and understand your protagonist. When presented with a character like Stephen – the “writer” of this tale – there are many hurdles that can distance the reader from the narrator: his obvious lack of education and worldliness, his stilted language and simple voice and his overall naivety. But despite cultural or educational gaps, you can still see things from Stephen’s perspective, and it’s that distance that makes his innermost thoughts, his obvious submission to the human condition, all the more profound, like when he mentions that he gets depressed at the idea of his life not having real significance. That concept bridges all the gaps. Stephen was a good choice as a narrator. It’s his good-natured simplicity that allows the reader to get a thorough feel for the aliens, and you can’t help getting attached to Smash and disliking those who mistreat Stephen. He’s very open, and it’s that openness that allows for a less restricted view point of the other interpreters, the visitors and the events that they experience.

The author of this book is very clever as well as being creative. The journal entries are well written with good flow and you never lose touch with the person telling the story. It is a fun, touching story, with some unpleasant moments typical of the conflict required for a moving tale, but it made me smile a lot. I’d recommend it to anyone that enjoys heart-warming tales and I give it a big thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

