Let me Stress this…

January 15, 2011 at 3:29 pm (writing)

Writing was always supposed to be a fun activity for me, and a way of de-stressing, but lately, it has been having the opposite effect. It’s not the writing itself that has been troublesome – I still find the creative process absolutely blissful. No, my stress derives from all of the activities surrounding the writing, other things that I either do not enjoy doing or downright despise. Add to that the fact that this was a week of three rejection letters and the type of review that makes you wonder if you should even be writing, and I found myself in a majorly stressed-out funk.

The editing I don’t enjoy, honestly, but I understand how it is a necessity to make your work the best that it can be, and I have slogged my way through the final edits for nine chapters of Fervor so far. However, seeing a social network posting from a fellow writer suggesting that if you don’t enjoy editing, then you aren’t a REAL writer certainly burned me. Not all of us are perfectionists; some of us are primarily dreamers.

I also don’t like the promotional requirements either. I’m not an extrovert by nature, so the efforts that I put into marketing my work are all the more challenging. I have to push myself to put things out there, and lately the push has been a constant. In addition to the submissions and bracing for the rejections, I’m hearing all the things I have to do, or I’m doing it all wrong. “You have to blog” – I’m doing this – “you have to have a website” – I have no clue how to do this, so this will likely involve paying somebody else – “you have to have a presence on every social networking platform out there” – the better the presentation, the better the promotion…do you know how many social networking platforms there are out there now? – “You have to find reviewers and bloggers to cover your book when it comes out” – where do I start with this, and how many free spec copies will I have to give out in the process? – “Sell! Sell! Sell!”

*sigh*- All of this will possibly involve money and hard work, but definitely time, time that I would rather be using to do more writing. I’m not a person who stresses very easily, so why did this suddenly become so stressful?

I guess I should have paid more attention to the old adage: be careful what you wish for…

1 Comment

  1. theleagueofelder said,

    Great post, Chantal. It’s easy for something that you love to become tedious work. Just stay true and keep everything in perspective.

Leave a Reply

