I Resolve…

January 1, 2011 at 1:12 am (writing)

Happy New Year, folks! Time to rev up for 2011. I’ve never been one who was big on resolutions or lists, but apparently both are expected this time of year. So I figured I’d kill two birds with one blog, and blog a list of my resolutions. But first, let me resolve that these resolutions will not involve diet, exercise or anything beyond my control (yes, the first two are within my control – but I choose to focus my efforts elsewhere.)

 So – here goes:

#1 – My writing resolutions – I resolve to edit the first draft of Elements of Genocide and write the ultimate killer of a query letter that will blow away the agents that I send it to. I resolve to write a plethora (I love that word) of short stories, and at least two novels, including the sequel to Fervor – tentatively titled Elevation. I resolve to kick Brad Fillipone in the butt until he gives me the next chapter of our collaboration…he owes me Chapter 13.

#2 – My drawing resolutions – I resolve to finish every illustration on my “to do” list in a timely manner. I resolve to compete in and successfully complete every Sketchuary event this year, including the Sketch Week that starts January 2. I resolve to draw more pictures associated with my short stories. The zombie sheep was only a start.

#3 – My family resolutions – I resolve to teach something meaningful to my kids every day. I could say I resolve to spend time with them, but I already do that, and this gives me a definable purpose, which I find is much more effective. I resolve to show my daughter how important it is to be responsible for your own life, how valuable it is to take calculated risks, and how necessary it is to make mistakes…as long as you learn from them.

#4 – My personal resolutions – I resolve to find something positive in everything. Looking back on my life I see that even some of the unhappiest events have helped to fuel some of my best stories, rejection letters have helped me to improve my work and cutting things while I revise, as painful as it may be, can certainly add polish to a piece. I resolve to not take anything or anyone for granted, and lastly, I resolve to pay it forward and offer as much encouragement to others as people have offered me.

2010 has been my happiest year ever. I have a wonderful family, amazingly talented friends, co-workers I’d probably be willing to walk hot coals for and loads and loads of opportunity (thanks MDP!)

I’m watching some of my biggest dreams manifest and solidify, I’m learning more than I could have ever imagined, and I feel like I’m really living again – something I hadn’t felt in over a decade. I already know that 2011 will be even better and the years beyond that hold even more promise.

Here’s to an awesome new year and a spectacular new decade – make every second count!

3 Comments

  1. Barbara McQueen said,

    Am I allowed to bring “hot coals” to work? You have your work cut out for you in 2011, but I have no doubts that you will accomplish these tasks and more. You have already shown us what you’re capable of, whether it be your fascinating shorts, hurry-turn-the-page trilogies or your open-my-imagination illustrations.

    Here’s to you and 2011, you go girl. 🙂

  2. theleagueofelder said,

    Here’s to you, Chantal–You deserve all the success the world has to offer.

  3. Rose said,

    Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

Leave a Reply

