Dare to be Different

April 24, 2010 at 3:35 am (writing) ()

Or how about running naked through wendigo-infested woods?

I never thought that I would be writing more than 8 books in less than a year. Nor did I ever imagine I would write an entire novel at the whim of an agent who playfully put out a list of themes that he would like to see. I picked the one that called to me, and now I’m on chapter 16 of Fervor. How’s that for value from a whim.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried the regular query process and sent manuscripts to publishers who accept them when they are unsolicited. That’s not enough for me, not to mention the fact that I think I’d rather coat myself in honey and run naked through bear invested woods than try to sell myself. I don’t like selling anything – never have.

What I do like is having people read my books. If I go to the trouble of writing them I don’t want to see them gathering cobwebs in a corner. So I give them away free to test readers while hoping (praying, begging) that they’ll get published, if only to reach a larger audience. Now I’m also waxing loquacious on a blog – something that I know I will flounder at, but will supposedly aid me in my journey. (All this according to the so-called “experts”).

I am as far from the norm as you can get. I dance to a very different drummer and that means I sometimes step on the toes of those who are all dancing to the same one. I envy my friends whose blogs have great depth and meaning. This won’t be one of those. On the other hand, I have been known at times to be witty (or so my fellow cubicle convicts occasionally tell me) so maybe you’ll at least get a laugh out of my sad efforts.

Now back to killing a character senselessly and making myself miserable in the process…

3 Comments

  1. jschancellor said,

    It will aid you, I promise. It may not seem like it right now, but trust me–it will (for a multitude of reasons). That being said, it will only aid you so long as you blog for the right reasons and so far it sounds like you are. Consider this your platform to tell the world at large whatever it is that’s fueling your fire as a writer and be careful to stay on track. It’s really tempting on a blog to get gimmicky with contests and a thousand links per post and so forth (not that you strike me as the type to do this…but fair warning anyway). This is all unsolicited advice, of course, but advice nonetheless.
    Personally, I think you’re off to a fantastic start and I’m including you on my blog roll at the Asylum. 🙂

  2. Barbara said,

    This is wonderful for your first attempt. I’m sure, in time, you will follow in the great company of those writers who choose to dance to a different drummer. Let your words continue to flow and know that your writing style is unique to you and to be admired by many. Kudos to you.. you ARE awesome!

  3. Justine Hedman said,

    I hope this all works out for you… I’ve told myself a thousand times I would start a blog, and just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I think, once I get my websight up and going I might try my hand. A great first blog, if you plan on keeping it up as far as your trials and tribulations with your writing, I plan to keep reading. There’s nothing I love more than to see what others, who are more like me, are going through. I have never danced to the same tune as those around me, so it’s nice to have others to dance with-even if they occassionally step on my toes, or me theirs. I can’t wait to get into your book, I may not have read any of your stuff yet, but I already know it holds promise. As your art speaks volumes of the passion you feel for it! Good job and keep writing-even if it started on a whim. Most of mine have too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

